StoP-AD Team

Stop AD team

John Breitner was recruited to the Douglas to lead a new Centre for Studies on Prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease (StoP-AD). The Centre seeks measurement and detection of change in biomarkers thought to reveal the progress of presymptomatic Alzheimer’s disease. With such ability to measure change, the Centre undertakes clinical trials for Pre-symptomatic Evaluation of Novel or Experimental Treatments for AD (PREVENT-AD).

John Breitner has authored over 200 publications and has mentored more than 15 doctoral and post-doctoral students, almost all of whom have gone on to hold full-time academic appointments.

Research Team

John Breitner, MD

Associate Directors
Pierre Étienne, MD
Judes Poirier, PhD


Pierre Bellec, PhD
Veronique Bohbot, PhD
Mallar Chakravarty, PhD
Louis Collins, PhD
Claudio Cuello, PhD
Pierre Etienne, MD
Alan C. Evans, PhD
David Fontaine, PhD
Serge Gauthier, MD
Rick Hoge, PhD
Gerhard Multhaup, PhD
Vasavan Nair, MD
Judes Poirier, PhD
Jens Pruessner, PhD
Natasha Rajah, PhD
Pedro Rosa-Neto, MD, PhD
Sylvia Villeneuve, PhD


Marianne Dufour
Jennifer Tremblay-Mercier
Cécile Madjar




Alzheimer's disease research links

McGill Logo

CIUSSS ouest montreal logo


  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre