Douglas researchers awarded CIHR funding in latest Project Grant Competition

July 21, 2023

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research have released the results for the Spring 2023 Project Grant Competition. We are pleased to report that several of our researchers were funded in this most recent competition, with funding awarded directly to the Douglas totalling nearly $4M. Drs. Cecilia Flores, Rachel Rabin, Lalit Srivastava, and Gustavo Turecki are Nominated Principal Investigators on funded Project Grants, and Bridge funding was awarded to Drs. Mallar Chakravarty (Nominated Principal Investigator) and Mahsa Dadar (Principal Investigator). Additionally, Dr. Martin Lepage is a Principal investigator on a funded grant submitted through Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (Toronto), and several researchers (Drs. Mark Brandon, Mallar Chakravarty, Cecilia Flores, Romina Mizrahi, Lena Palaniyappan, Rachel Rabin, Pedro Rosa-Neto, Tak Pan Wong) are listed as Co-Applicants on funded projects managed at the Douglas and elsewhere.

Funding obtained at the Douglas


Project Grants

  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Cecilia Flores
    Title: Decoding the impact of social stress during adolescence on the maturing prefrontal cortex
  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Rachel Rabin
    Co-Applicants: Richard P Bazinet & Romina Mizrahi
    Title: Targeting the Endocannabinoid System to Improve Cannabis Withdrawal in Cannabis-Tobacco Co-users
  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Lalit Srivastava
    Co-Applicants: Mark Brandon, Marie-Ève Tremblay, Tak Pan Wong
    Role of adolescent ventral hippocampus in the development of corticolimbic system and behaviours related to neurodevelopmental disorders
  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Gustavo Turecki
    Co-Applicants: Jane Foster, Benicio Frey, Yue Li, Naguib Mechawar, Corina Nagy, Massimiliano Orri, Claudio Soares, Rudolf Uher
    Title: Extracellular vesicles (EVs) as a window into the depressed brain: an investigation of brain-cell derived EVs

Bridge funding

  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Mallar Chakravarty
    Co-Principal Investigator: Mahsa Dadar

    Co-Applicants: Claudine Gauthier, Simon Ducharme, Christine Tardif, Josefina Maranzano, Yashar Zeighami
    Title: Examining the heterogenous etiology of vascular pathology in white matter: A combined population-based and post-mortem neuroimaging study

Funding obtained through other institutions

Project Grants

  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Colin Hawco (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health –Toronto)
    Co-Principal Investigators:
    Martin Lepage & Aristotle Voineskos
    Co-Applicants: Mallar Chakravarty, Candice Crocker, Kara Dempster, Erin Dickie, Alexandre Dumais, Synthia Guimond, Pierre Orban, Lena Palaniyappan, Stéphane Potvin, Philip Tibbo, Lauri Tuominen, Todd Woodward
    Title: Schizophrenia Canadian Neuroimaging Database (SCanD)
  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Argel Aguilar Valles (Carleton University)
    Co-Applicants: Cecilia Flores, Natalina Salmaso
    Title: Identifying the molecular determinants of ketamine’s antidepressant action
  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Tony George (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health –Toronto)
    Co-Principal Investigators: Pamela Kent
    Co-Applicants: Sarah Dermody, Stefan Kloiber, Clement Ma, Roger McIntyre, Jennifer Rabin, Rachel Rabin
    Title: A Controlled Study of Extended Cannabis Abstinence in Major Depression
  • Nominated Principal Investigator: Maged Goubran (Sunnybrook Research Institute – Toronto)
    Co-Applicants: Boris Bernhardt, Min Su Kang, Julie Ottoy, Jennifer Rabin, Pedro Rosa-Neto
    Title: Charting subject-specific tau propagation along the gradients of brain connectivity in Alzheimer’s disease

The official results will be posted here.