Congratulations to the Hendlisz and Giguère Award winners!

On Tuesday, December 14, we had the privilege of hearing 6 excellent talks by the nominees of the Hendlisz Award. Thanks to the DAL, Dr. Nicolas Cermakian, and all who organized and participated in this great event!

This event is made possible by the generous support from the Hendlisz Family.


2021 Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Award competition: Awardees

The Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards are given to the best research articles of the year published by students and postdoctoral fellows of the Douglas Institute research centre. The 2021 awardees were announced at a special scientific event held on December 14, 2021.

  • 1st place: Angélica Torres-Berrío (team Cecilia Flores) for her article “miR-218 in Adolescence Predicts and Mediates Vulnerability to Stress, Biological Psychiatry, 2021
  • 2nd place: Aurélie Bussy (team Mallar Chakravarty) for her article “Hippocampal subfield volumes across the healthy lifespan and the effects of MR sequence on estimates“, NeuroImage, 2021
  • 3rd place: Lani Cupo (team Mallar Chakravarty, but article published under supervision of Jai Shah) for her article “Timing, Distribution, and Relationship Between Nonpsychotic and Subthreshold Psychotic Symptoms Prior to Emergence of a First Episode of Psychosis, Schizophrenia Bulletin, 2021

2021 Marie Giguère Travel Award competition: Awardees

Thanks to the generous support from Ms. Marie Giguère, awards worth up to $500 are available to support travel and attendance for graduate students (MSc and PhD candidates) presenting their work at a national or international scientific conference.

  • Ashraf Mahmud (team of Cecilia Flores) – Potential role of DCC-positive neurons in the adult prefrontal cortex projecting to the nucleus accumbens shell in susceptibility to social defeat stress

  • Jiamin Song (team of Dominique Walker) – Fear-induced Glutamate Release and Parvalbumin Interneuron Maturation in the Medial Prefrontal Cortex of Juvenile Rats is Sex-dependent and Modified by Exposure to Early Life Stress
  • Rixing Lin (teams of Gustavo Turecki and Corina Nagy) – The role of small nucleolar RNAs in antidepressant drug action
  • Claudia Belliveau (team of Naguib Mechawar) – Perineuronal nets in the ventromedial prefrontal cortex of depressed suicides with a history of child abuse
  • Danielle Penney (team of Martin Lepage) – Exploring the factor structure of the PTSD Checklist for DSM-5 in psychotic disorders
  • Lara Kojok (team of Alain Brunet) – COVID-19 related stress: the mediating effect of social support / Suicide Risk Among Active and Retired Canadian Forces (2 presentations)


Congratulations to the awardees!