Marie-Josée Fleury
Ph.D.

Division: 
Services de santé / Psychosocial

Marie-Josée Fleury
 

Bureau: 
E-3106, Pavillon Perry

6875 Boulevard LaSalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


(514) 761-6137 x4344

Champs de recherche: 
Recherche psychosociale et des populations

Thème de recherche: 
Santé mentale et société

Images labo - cliquer pour agrandir: 
Fleury lab - Dec 2018

Chercheuse, Centre de recherche Douglas
Professeure titulaire, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill



Organisation et adéquation des services en santé mentale


Les troubles mentaux affectent minimalement 10% de la population au cours d’une année. De ce nombre, moins de la moitié utilisent des services pour des raisons de santé mentale. Les besoins non comblés exprimés par les personnes avec un trouble de santé mentale sont aussi élevés, variant selon les types de besoins, de troubles mentaux et selon le profil des personnes. Notamment, les personnes avec des troubles mentaux et d’abus et de dépendance à l’alcool et aux drogues ou en situation d’itinérance ont des besoins importants reliés à leur santé globale, leur fonctionnement et les activités de la vie quotidienne, et ont souvent un faible réseau social. L’adéquation de l’aide à répondre aux besoins de ces personnes témoigne ainsi de nombreux défis. Pour mieux desservir ces personnes, et dans le contexte actuel d’accroissement de la demande de soins et de contraintes budgétaires, différents modèles de soins visant à améliorer l’efficience des services et à promouvoir une culture d’amélioration continue des soins et de bonnes pratiques ont ainsi progressivement été introduits. Les réformes ont aussi particulièrement contribué à consolider les soins primaires, les services octroyés dans la communauté et l’intégration du dispositif de soins. 

L'équipe de recherche sur l'organisation et l'adéquation des services vise à mieux cerner les besoins des personnes ayant des troubles mentaux, d’abus et de dépendance aux substances psychoactives et en situation d’itinérance et les transformations et composantes clées contribuant à l’amélioration du dispositif de soins. Grâce à une meilleure connaissance des déterminants des besoins et de l’utilisation des services en fonction de différents profils d’usagers ainsi que de l’organisation et des processus de soins, l’équipe espère ainsi contribuer à l’amélioration des connaissances et effectuer des recommandations pour l’optimisation des services de santé mentale. 

Les recherches de l’équipe s’organisent autour de deux axes principaux:
1) Axe usagers. Cet axe s'intéresse à l'interaction des caractéristiques sociodémographiques, économiques et cliniques des usagers, à l'évaluation de leurs besoins, à l'aide reçue, aux services qu'ils utilisent ainsi qu'à leur degré de satisfaction envers les services. Il vise à mieux comprendre les trajectoires de services et leur impact sur l'intégration dans la communauté et le rétablissement des usagers.

2) Axe organisationnel. Dans le cadre des réformes en cours, cet axe s'intéresse à l'organisation des services en réseaux locaux, à leur structuration, à leur dynamique et aux pratiques déployées. Il vise à mieux comprendre les caractéristiques organisationnelles, les modes d'intégration et les pratiques les plus efficaces contribuant à améliorer la performance et la qualité du système, notamment les soins primaires et les services spécialisés incluant l’urgence.

L'équipe utilise des méthodes de recherche diversifiées: enquêtes, exploitation de banques de données administratives, études de cas, etc. L’équipe tient compte de la perspective des gestionnaires, des cliniciens et des usagers. Tout en étant constituée de chercheurs et agents de recherche avec des compétences variées, l'équipe implique aussi la participation active de décideurs, cliniciens et usagers. Pour réaliser ses recherches, l’équipe bénéficie de plusieurs sources de financement en provenance du FRQS (projet sur les urgences), IRSC (projets sur l’adéquation des services à répondre aux besoins des usagers, et soins partagés), CRSH (projets sur le logement transitoire, et les femmes en situation d’itinérance), etc.  

Coordonnées
Pour toutes questions sur la recherche de l’équipe, vous pouvez contacter:
Marie-Josée Fleury, Ph.D., Chercheuse principale de l’équipe, flemar@douglas.mcgill.ca
ou Guy Grenier, Ph.D., Chercheur associé, guy.grenier@douglas.mcgill.ca 


Roux, P., C. Passerieux, M.-J. Fleury (2016). Mediation analysis of needs, service performance and outcomes for patients with mental disorders, British Journal of Psychiatry, Oct 6. pii: bjp.bp.116.184010.

Fleury, M.-J., A. Djouini, C. Huynh, J. Tremblay, F. Ferland, J.-M. Ménard, G. Belleville (2016). Remission from substance-use disorders: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Drug and alcohol dependence, Nov 1; 168: 293-306. doi: 10.1016/j.drugalcdep.2016.08.625. Epub 2016 Aug 29.

Chauvet, M., Kamgang, E., Ngamini Ngui, A., & Fleury, M.-J. (2015). L’Addiction aux substances psychoactives: Prévalence, utilisation des services et bonnes pratiques. Cahier de recherche du CRDM-IU, Montréal, 198 p.

Fleury, M.-J. & Brochu, S., Guest editors (2014). Special issue on addiction with co-occurring problems. Journal of Addiction Research Therapy, S10 (e001).

Fleury, M.J. in collaboration with Delorme, A., Guest editors (2014). Special issue on Politiques de santé mentale. Revue santé mentale au Québec (RSMQ), 39(1).

Fleury, M.-J., G. Grenier, J.-M. Bamvita, J. Tremblay (2013). Typology of persons with severe mental disorders. BMC Psychiatry, 13(1): 137-155.

Fleury, M.-J., G. Grenier, J.-M. Bamvita, M. Perreault, J. Caron (2012). Determinants of the utilization of diversified types of professionals for mental health reasons in a Montreal (Canadian) catchment area. Global Journal of Health Science, 4(3): 13-29

Fleury, M.-J., L. Farand, D. Aubé, A. Imboua (2012). Management of mental health problems by general practitioners in Quebec/La prise en charge des troubles de santé mentale chez les omnipraticiens du Québec. Canadian Family Physician, 58 (12): e732-738, e725-731.

Fleury, M.-J., Grenier, G., Bamvita, J.-M., Wallot, H., & Perreault, M. (2012). Determinants of referral to the public health care and social sector by nonprofit organizations: Clinical profile and interorganizational characteristics. Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly, 41(2): 257-279.

Fleury, M.-J., Bamvita, J.-M., Farand, L., Aubé, D., Fournier, L. & Lesage, A. (2012). GP group profiles and involvement in mental health care. Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice, 18(2): 396-403.

Fleury, M.-J. & Grenier, G. (2012). État de situation sur la santé mentale au Québec et réponse du système de santé et des services sociaux. Québec, Commissaire à la santé et au bien-être.

Fleury, M.-J., & Grenier, G. (2012). Primary mental healthcare and integrated services. In L. L’Abate (Ed.), Mental illnesses. Evaluation, treatments and implications (pp. 357-390). Rijeka, Croatia: InTech.

Fleury, M.-J., G. Grenier, J.-M. Bamvita, J. Caron (2011). Mental health service utilization among patients with severe mental disorders. Community Mental Health Journal 47(4): 365-377.

Jiwani, I., & Fleury, M.-J. (2011). Divergent modes of integration: The Canadian way. International Journal of Integrated Care, 11: e018.

Fleury, M.-J., M. Tremblay, H. Nguyen, L. Bordeleau (2007). Le système sociosanitaire au Québec. Régulation, gouvernance et participation. Montréal: Gaëtan Morin Publisher, 513 p.

Fleury, M.-J. (2006). Integrated service networks: The Quebec case. Health Services Management Research, 19: 153-165.


Marie-Josée Fleury, Ph.D., s'est jointe à l'équipe de chercheurs de l'Institut Douglas en 2002, après avoir obtenu son doctorat en santé publique. Elle est professeure titulaire au Département de psychiatrie de l’Université McGill, et professeure associée à l’École de Santé Publique de l’Université de Montréal (ESPUM). Elle agit comme consultante auprès du gouvernement québécois ainsi que de partenaires gouvernementaux et de recherche en Europe, particulièrement en Belgique et en France. De 2012 à 2016, elle a assumé la direction scientifique du Centre de réadaptation en dépendance de Montréal – Institut Universitaire, regroupant près de 40 chercheurs membres et associés. De 2010 à 2012, elle a également été l’experte-conseil en santé mentale en soutien à l’élaboration du Rapport d’appréciation de la performance de 2012 du Commissaire à la santé et au bien-être (CSBE), où elle a signé avec le Dr Guy Grenier: l’État de situation sur la santé mentale au Québec et réponse du système de santé et services sociaux. Elle compte plus de 200 publications, a été chercheuse boursière de 2012 à 2014 (IRSC, FRQS), et a reçu  de nombreuses subventions de recherche.  Ses recherches visent à mieux comprendre les composantes centrales de l’amélioration des systèmes de soins et de l’adéquation des services à répondre aux besoins des usagers, particulièrement dans les domaines de la santé mentale, des dépendances et de l’itinérance. Ses axes de recherche comprennent l'analyse des systèmes de soins, l’évaluation des politiques et des services, et les études d’implantation. Elle effectue aussi des recherches épidémiologiques et d’impact sur la clientèle. 


FRQS, Chercheur-boursier Senior, 2011-2014
IRSC, bourse de Nouveau Chercheur, 2006-2011
FRQS, Chercheur-boursier Junior II, 2006-2010 (décliné)
FRQS, Chercheur-boursier Junior I, 2002-2006

 


Guy Grenier, Ph.D., chercheur associé
Jean-Marie Bamvita, MD, Ph.D., chercheur associé
Judith Sabetti, Ph.D., agente de recherche
Armelle Imboua, MD, M.Sc., coordonnatrice de recherche
Daniela Perrottet, M.Sc., coordonnatrice de recherche
Ndibu Muntu Keba Kebe, étudiant au doctorat
Béatrice Simo, étudiante au doctorat
Lia Gentil, Stagiaire postdoctorale
Zhirong Cao, M.Sc., agent de recherche
Morgane Gabet, étudiante au doctorat
Gesthika Kaltsidis, étudiante à la maîtrise

 


Publications récentes

2019

2018

  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre

Marie-Josée Fleury

Marie-Josée Fleury
 

Office: 
Rooms E-3106, Perry Pavilion

6875 Boulevard Lasalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


(514) 761-6137 x4344

Research area: 
Psychosocial Research / Population Research

Research Theme: 
Mental Health and Society


Professor
Department of Psychiatry, McGill University
Researcher, Douglas Mental Health University Institute



Organisation and Adequacy of Mental Health Services


Mental health problems affect at least 10% of the population in any given year; yet less than half of those affected utilize services for mental health issues. Their level of unmet needs is reportedly high, and varies according to type of needs, different mental health problems and individual profiles. Most notably, persons with mental health problems as well as alcohol and drug dependence, or those experiencing homelessness, have particularly important needs related to their global health, functioning, and activities of daily living; their social networks are often weak. As such, providing adequate help in order to respond to the needs of these individuals involves numerous challenges. Different models of care aimed at improving the efficiency of services, and at better serving individuals in the present context of increased service demand and budgetary restraint, have been progressively introduced with the overall objective of promoting a culture of best practices and continuing improvement in service delivery. These reforms have especially contributed to the consolidation of primary care, the provision of services in the community, and the integration of health care structures.

The research team on the organization and adequacy of services aims to better understand the needs of persons affected by mental health problems, abuse and dependence on psychoactive substances, and those in situations of homelessness, as well as the transformations and key components that may contribute to improving the delivery of care. By providing new findings on the determinants of needs, on service utilization as a function of different service user profiles, and on the organization and processes of care, the team hopes to improve the state of knowledge and to offer recommendations that will optimize mental health services. 

Research initiatives undertaken by the team are organized along two major streams: 

1) Service user stream: This area explores interactions among the socio-demographic, economic, and clinical characteristics of service users; the evaluation of their met and unmet needs; help received; service utilization, as well as users’ degree of satisfaction with services. The objective is to better understand service trajectories and their impact on the community integration of services users as well as on their mental health recovery. 

2) Organizational stream: In the context of present reforms, this stream concerns the organization of services in local networks, their structuring, their dynamics, and practices employed. It aims to better understand organizational characteristics, modes of integration, and the efficacy of practices in terms of their contribution to improved performance, and to the overall quality of the system, notably in primary care and in specialized services including emergency services. 

The team uses a variety of research methods: surveys, use of administrative data banks; case studies, etc. The perspectives of managers, clinicians and service users are taken into account. While the team is composed of researchers and research agents with a variety of competencies, the team work implies the active participation of decision makers, clinicians and service users. The team also benefits from several sources of research funding: the FRQS (project on emergency rooms); CIHR (projects on service adequacy for responding to service user needs, and shared care); SSHRC (projects on transitory housing and homelessness women), etc.   

Contact Information:
For all questions on the research of this team, please contact:

Marie-Josée Fleury, PhD, Principal Investigator, flemar@douglas.mcgill.ca or

Guy Grenier, PhD, Associated Researcher, guy.grenier@douglas.mcgill.ca 


Roux, P., C. Passerieux, M.-J. Fleury (2016). Mediation analysis of needs, service performance and outcomes for patients with mental disorders, British Journal of Psychiatry, Oct 6. pii: bjp.bp.116.184010.

Fleury, M.-J., A. Djouini, C. Huynh, J. Tremblay, F. Ferland, J.-M. Ménard, G. Belleville (2016). Remission from substance-use disorders: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Drug and alcohol dependence, Nov 1; 168: 293-306. doi: 10.1016/j.drugalcdep.2016.08.625. Epub 2016 Aug 29.

Chauvet, M., Kamgang, E., Ngamini Ngui, A., & Fleury, M.-J. (2015). L’Addiction aux substances psychoactives: Prévalence, utilisation des services et bonnes pratiques. Cahier de recherche du CRDM-IU, Montréal, 198 p.

Fleury, M.-J. & Brochu, S., Guest editors (2014). Special issue on addiction with co-occurring problems. Journal of Addiction Research Therapy, S10 (e001).

Fleury, M.J. in collaboration with Delorme, A., Guest editors (2014). Special issue on Politiques de santé mentale. Revue santé mentale au Québec (RSMQ), 39(1).

Fleury, M.-J., G. Grenier, J.-M. Bamvita, J. Tremblay (2013). Typology of persons with severe mental disorders. BMC Psychiatry, 13(1): 137-155.

Fleury, M.-J., G. Grenier, J.-M. Bamvita, M. Perreault, J. Caron (2012). Determinants of the utilization of diversified types of professionals for mental health reasons in a Montreal (Canadian) catchment area. Global Journal of Health Science, 4(3): 13-29

Fleury, M.-J., L. Farand, D. Aubé, A. Imboua (2012). Management of mental health problems by general practitioners in Quebec/La prise en charge des troubles de santé mentale chez les omnipraticiens du Québec. Canadian Family Physician, 58 (12): e732-738, e725-731.

Fleury, M.-J., Grenier, G., Bamvita, J.-M., Wallot, H., & Perreault, M. (2012). Determinants of referral to the public health care and social sector by nonprofit organizations: Clinical profile and interorganizational characteristics. Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly, 41(2): 257-279.

Fleury, M.-J., Bamvita, J.-M., Farand, L., Aubé, D., Fournier, L. & Lesage, A. (2012). GP group profiles and involvement in mental health care. Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice, 18(2): 396-403.

Fleury, M.-J. & Grenier, G. (2012). État de situation sur la santé mentale au Québec et réponse du système de santé et des services sociaux. Québec, Commissaire à la santé et au bien-être.

Fleury, M.-J., & Grenier, G. (2012). Primary mental healthcare and integrated services. In L. L’Abate (Ed.), Mental illnesses. Evaluation, treatments and implications (pp. 357-390). Rijeka, Croatia: InTech.

Fleury, M.-J., G. Grenier, J.-M. Bamvita, J. Caron (2011). Mental health service utilization among patients with severe mental disorders. Community Mental Health Journal 47(4): 365-377.

Jiwani, I., & Fleury, M.-J. (2011). Divergent modes of integration: The Canadian way. International Journal of Integrated Care, 11: e018.

Fleury, M.-J., M. Tremblay, H. Nguyen, L. Bordeleau (2007). Le système sociosanitaire au Québec. Régulation, gouvernance et participation. Montréal: Gaëtan Morin Publisher, 513 p.

Fleury, M.-J. (2006). Integrated service networks: The Quebec case. Health Services Management Research, 19: 153-165.


Marie-Josée Fleury joined the research team at the Douglas Institute in 2002, after obtaining a doctorate in public health. She is Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at McGill University, and Adjunct professor in the School of Public Health at the Université de Montréal. She serves as consultant to the Quebec government as well as European government partners and research groups, especially in Belgium and France. From 2012-2016, she has been the Scientific Director at the Centre de réadaptation en dépendence de Montréal – University Institute, which brings together some 40 member researchers and associates. From 2010-2012, she also served as the mental health expert advisor in developing the 2012 appreciation report on performance of the Commission on Health and Welfare (CSBE) – Québec Health Ministry, which she authored with Dr. Guy Grenier: “Status report on mental health in Québec, and response of the health and social service system”. Her publications number around 200 articles. She also received salary awards from 2002 to 2014 (CIHR, FRQS), and has been awarded many research grants, including several for projects currently under her direction. Her research seeks a better understanding of the key components for improving healthcare systems, and the adequacy of services in relation to the needs of service users, particularly in the areas of mental health, addiction, and homelessness. Her lines of research deal with health systems analysis, policy and service assessment, and implementation studies. She also conducts epidemiological and outcome studies.


FRQS, Senior Investigator Award, 2011-2014
CIHR, New Investigator Salary Award, 2006-2011
FRQS, Junior II Researcher Salary Awards, 2006-2010 (declined)
FRQS, Junior I Researcher Salary Award, 2002-2006

 


Guy Grenier, Ph.D., Associate Researcher
Jean-Marie Bamvita, M.D., Ph.D., Research Agent
Judith Sabetti, Ph.D., Research Agent
Armelle Imboua, M.D., M.Sc., Research Coordinator
Daniela Perrottet, M.Sc., Research Coordinator
Marilyn Fortin, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow 
Estelle Ouellet, M.D., M.Sc., Resident in Psychiatry
Caludie Loranger, Posdoctoral Fellow
Ndibu Muntu Keba Kebe, Doctoral Student 
Béatrice Simo, Doctoral Student 


Publications

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

McGill Logo

CIUSSS ouest montreal logo

 



  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre