Johanne Renaud
M.D., M.Sc., FRCPC

Division: 
Recherche clinique

Johanne Renaud
 

Bureau: 
F-3133, Pavillon Frank B. Common

6875 Boulevard LaSalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


(514) 761-6131 x3301

Champs de recherche: 
Recherche clinique et humaine

Thème de recherche: 
Stress, désordres de l'humeur et de l'impulsivité


Chercheuse, Centre de recherche Douglas 
Psychiatre de l’enfant et de l’adolescent, Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas
Chef de psychiatrie, Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas 
Chef associée de psychiatrie, CIUSSS ODIM
Professeure agrégée, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill
Boursière Manuvie en santé mentale chez les jeunes, Centre Manuvie pour les avancées en prévention de la dépression et du suicide chez les jeunes



Dépression et suicide chez les jeunes


La dépression et le suicide chez les jeunes sont des problèmes prédominants au sein de notre société. À travers son rôle de chercheuse, Johanne Renaud M.D., M.Sc., FRCPC, tente d’améliorer les mesures de prévention et de traitement par la mise en place de protocoles de recherche sur des interventions thérapeutiques innovatrices auprès des jeunes dépressifs et de leur famille.

Son expertise spécifique réside dans l’étude des services et des interventions en santé mentale auprès des jeunes qui ont des prédispositions au suicide. Elle vient de publier la première étude canadienne sur le suicide chez les moins de 18 ans, en utilisant la méthode de l'autopsie psychologique. Elle a aussi témoigné à titre d’expert sur le suicide chez les jeunes pour le gouvernement canadien. En 2003, Johanne Renaud s’est joint au Groupe McGill d’études sur le suicide à l’Institut Douglas. En 2011, elle est devenue Boursière Manuvie (alors Standard Life) en santé mentale chez les jeunes. À ce titre, elle dirige le Centre Manuvie pour les avancées en prévention de la dépression et du suicide chez les jeunes.

À titre de clinicienne, Johanne Renaud est chef médical de la section jeunesse du Programme des troubles dépressifs de l’Institut Douglas. Ce programme offre un service surspécialisé pour les jeunes et les adultes qui souffrent de dépression majeure, d’idéation ou de comportement suicidaire ou de deuil pathologique.

Au niveau de l’enseignement de la médecine et de la psychiatrie, Johanne Renaud est la responsable du Programme de résidence en pédopsychiatrie de l’Institut Douglas pour la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill. Ce programme est destiné aux résidents désirant se spécialiser dans le domaine de la psychiatrie de l’enfance et de l’adolescence. Elle offre aussi des stages de formation clinique pour les étudiants pré-gradués en médecine (externat I et II) et aux étudiants en médecine familiale et pédiatrie souhaitant développer leurs habiletés cliniques et se familiariser avec la pratique en pédopsychiatrie. Enfin, elle supervise des étudiants de niveaux maîtrise, doctorat et post-doctorat qui désirent poursuivrent leurs études dans ce domaine.


Consoli A., Cohen D., Bodeau N., Guilé J.M., Mirkovic B., Knafo A., Mahé V., Laurent C., Renaud J., Labelle R., Breton J.J., Gérardin P. (2015). Risk and Protective Factors for Suicidality at 6-Month Follow-up in Adolescent Inpatients Who Attempted Suicide: An Exploratory Model, Can J Psychiatry, 60(2 Suppl 1), S-27-S36.

Knafo A., Guilé J.M., Breton J.J., Labelle R., Belloncle V., Bodeau N., Boudailliez B., Garny de la Rivière S., Kharij B., Mille C., Mirkovic B., Pripis C., Renaud J., Vervel C., Cohen D., Gérardin P. (2015). Coping Strategies Associated With Suicidal Behaviour in Adolescent Inpatients With Borderline Personality Disorder, Can J Psychiatry, 60(2 Suppl 1), S46-S54.

Mbekou V., MacNeil S., Gignac M., Renaud J. (2015). Parent–Youth Agreement on Self-Reported Competencies of Youth With Depressive and Suicidal Symptoms, Can J Psychiatry, 60(2 Suppl 1), S55-S60.

Tourian L., LeBoeuf A., Breton J.J., Cohen D., Gignac M., Labelle R., Guile J.M., Renaud J. (2015). Treatment Options for the Cardinal Symptoms of Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder - , J Can Acad Child Adolesc Psychiatry, 24(1), 41-54. En savoir plus.


2012
Prix Klerman - Mention honorable
Le Prix Klerman récompense l'excellence en recherche clinique par un boursier jeune chercheur NARSAD
2008

NARSAD Young Investigator Grantee
Elle reçoit le NARSAD Young Investigator Award 2008 pour ses travaux portant sur les trajectoires de services des jeunes ayant fait une tentative de suicide. Le National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD) a créé le Young Investigator Award afin de venir en aide aux scientifiques les plus prometteurs débutants dans le domaine de la recherche afin de générer des résultats préliminaires pouvant mener à des subventions plus importantes.
2002

Prix «Distinction 2002, Projet d'intervention concertée à Montréal»
Ce prix est décerné par l'Association des Centres jeunesse du Québec


Publications récentes

  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre

Johanne Renaud

Johanne Renaud
 

Office: 
Frank B. Common Pavilion Room F-3133

6875 Boulevard Lasalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


(514) 761-6131 x3301

Research area: 
Clinical Research / Human Research

Research Theme: 
Stress, mood and impulsivity disorders


MD, MSc, FRCPC
Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Medical Chief of the Child Psychiatry Program,
Douglas Institute
Associate Professor of Psychiatry, McGill University
Manulife Senior Fellow in Teen Mental Health,
Manulife Centre for Breakthroughs in Teen Depression and Suicide Prevention



Youth suicide and suicidal behaviours


Youth suicide and suicidal behaviours are pervasive problems in our society. In her role as researcher, Johanne Renaud, MD, MSc, FRCPC, strives to improve preventative and treatment measures by implementing research protocols on innovative interventions for depressed youth and their families. This includes research into mental health services and interventions for youth at risk of suicide. She published the first Canadian psychological autopsy study on the topic of completed suicide in youth under 18 years of age. She has also been an expert witness on youth suicide for the Canadian government. In 2003, Johanne Renaud joined the McGill Group for Suicide Studies at the Douglas Institute. In 2011, she was nominated Manulife (then Standard Life) Senior Fellow in Teen Mental Health; as such, she chairs the Manulife Centre for Breakthroughs in Teen Depression and Suicide Prevention.

As a clinician, Johanne Renaud holds the title of medical chief for the youth section of the Douglas Institute’s Depressive Disorders Program—a surspecialized service for children and adults suffering from major depression, suicidal ideation or behaviour, or pathological bereavement.

In terms of teaching in the fields of medicine and psychiatry, Johanne Renaud oversees the post-graduate training program for child psychiatry of the Douglas Institute for the McGill University’s Faculty of Medicine. This program is intended for residents wishing to specialize in this area. She offers clinical training rotations for pre-graduate medical students (PGY-I and II), and for students in family medicine and paediatrics. This helps students to develop clinical skills and become familiar with the practice of child and adolescent psychiatry. In addition, Johanne Renaud supervises master’s, doctoral, and post-doctoral students wishing to complete studies in this area.


Consoli A., Cohen D., Bodeau N., Guilé J.M., Mirkovic B., Knafo A., Mahé V., Laurent C., Renaud J., Labelle R., Breton J.J., Gérardin P. (2015). Risk and Protective Factors for Suicidality at 6-Month Follow-up in Adolescent Inpatients Who Attempted Suicide: An Exploratory Model, Can J Psychiatry, 60(2 Suppl 1), S-27-S36.

Knafo A., Guilé J.M., Breton J.J., Labelle R., Belloncle V., Bodeau N., Boudailliez B., Garny de la Rivière S., Kharij B., Mille C., Mirkovic B., Pripis C., Renaud J., Vervel C., Cohen D., Gérardin P. (2015). Coping Strategies Associated With Suicidal Behaviour in Adolescent Inpatients With Borderline Personality Disorder, Can J Psychiatry, 60(2 Suppl 1), S46-S54.

Mbekou V., MacNeil S., Gignac M., Renaud J. (2015). Parent–Youth Agreement on Self-Reported Competencies of Youth With Depressive and Suicidal Symptoms, Can J Psychiatry, 60(2 Suppl 1), S55-S60.

Tourian L., LeBoeuf A., Breton J.J., Cohen D., Gignac M., Labelle R., Guile J.M., Renaud J. (2015). Treatment Options for the Cardinal Symptoms of Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder - , J Can Acad Child Adolesc Psychiatry, 24(1), 41-54. En savoir plus.


2012

Klerman Prize Honorable Mention
The Klerman Prize Honorable Mention honors exceptional clinical research by a NARSAD Young Investigator Grantee.
2008

NARSAD Young Investigator Award
She receives the 2008 NARSAD Young Investigator Award for her works on Patterns and trajectories of suicide attempters in terms of the utilization of health care services. The National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD) created the Young Investigator Award to help the most promising scientists who are now entering research to generate pilot data necessary for larger grants.
2002

Distinction 2002, Montreal Youth Centres, Community Joint Intervention
This distinction is presented by the Association des Centres jeunesse du Québec.


Recent Publications

McGill Logo

CIUSSS ouest montreal logo

 



  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre