Many award and prize programs are available for students and postdocs of the Douglas. Here are some of these, along with the list of the recent awardees.

Lauren Reynolds, 3rd prize; Guido Powell, 2nd prize; Arnaud Tanti, 1st prize; Mr. Jacques Hendlisz (donor)Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards

The Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards are given to the best research articles of the year published by students and postdoctoral fellows of the Douglas Institute research centre. The 2017 competition was for articles published between early November 2016 and early November 2017. The awardees were announced at a special scientific event held on December 14, 2017.

2017 Leo and Rachel Hendlisz awardees:

  • First prize: Arnaud Tanti (team of Naguib Mechawar)
    for his article "Association of a history of child abuse with impaired myelination in the anterior cingulate cortex: convergent epigenetic, transcriptional, and morphological evidence", American Journal of Psychiatry, 2017
  • Second prize: Guido Antonio Powell (team of Eric Latimer)
    for his article "Changes in quality of life from a homelessness intervention: true change, response shift, or random variation", Quality of Life Research, 2017
  • Third prize: Lauren Reynolds (team of Cecilia Flores)
    for her article "DCC receptors drive prefrontal cortex maturation by determining dopamine axon targeting in adolescence", Biological Psychiatry, 2017

On the picture. left to right: Lauren Reynolds, 3rd prize, Guido Powell, 2nd prize, Arnaud Tanti, 1st prize, Mr. Jacques Hendlisz (the donor)

Hendlisz prizes2016 Leo and Rachel Hendlisz awardees:

  • First prize: Richard Boyce (teams of Sylvain Williams and Antoine Adamantidis)
    for his article "Causal evidence for the role of REM sleep theta rhythm in contextual memory consolidation", Science, 2016
  • Second prize: Elsa Isingrini (team of Bruno Giros)
    for her article "Resilience to chronic stress is mediated by noradrenergic regulation of dopamine neurons", Nature Neuroscience, 2016
  • Third prize: Angélica Torres-Berrío (team of Cecilia Flores)
    for her article "DCC confers susceptibility to depression-like behaviors in humans and mice and is regulated by miR-218", Biological Psychiatry, 2016

Research Day prizes

During the Annual Research Day of the Douglas Hospital Research Centre and McGill Department of Psychiatry, prizes are awarded for the best oral and poster presentations.

2017 Douglas prizes

2017 Douglas prizes

Oral presentations:

  • First prize and Prix d'excellence FRQ-S: Scott Bell (lab of Carl Ernst)
  • Second prize: Chloé Nobis (lab of Nicolas Cermakian)
  • Third prize: Santiago Cuesta (lab of Cecilia Flores)

Poster presentations:

  • First prize: Abdelhalim Elsiekh (lab of Natasha Rajah)
  • Second prize: Lauren Reynolds (lab of Cecilia Flores)


Prix psychiatrie McGill 2017

2017 Department of Psychiatry prizes

Oral presentation:

  • 1st prize (Marion Birmingham/Trevor Dennis Award): Randa Elgendy (lab of Norbert Schmitz)
  • 2nd prize: Gerald Jordan (lab of Srividya Iyer)

Poster presentation:

  • 1st prize: Kira Riehm (lab of Frank Elgar)


Marie Giguère Travel awards

Bourse Marie Giguère

Thanks to the generous support from Ms. Marie Giguère, Ad. E., Vice-President of the Douglas Mental Health University Institute Foundation, these awards support travel and attendance for graduate students (MSc and PhD candidates) presenting their work at a national or international scientific conference.

2017 awardees:

  • Eva Vico Varela (lab of Sylvain Williams)
  • Elizabeth Ankudowich (lab of Natasha Rajah)
  • Angela Guadagno (lab of Claire-Dominique Walker)
  • Chathura Kumaragamage (lab of Jamie Near)
  • Weam Fageera (lab of Ridha Joober)
  • Angelica Torres Berrio (lab of Cecilia Flores)
  • Eva Graham (lab of Norbert Schmitz)
  • Ashley Lemieux (labs of Rob Whitley and Anne Crocker)

TD's postdoctoral fellowship in youth mental health

Thanks to a generous gift from the Toronto Dominion bank, the Douglas Institute Research Centre and the Douglas Institute Foundation give a yearly fellowship to support one resident or postdoctoral fellow pursuing research in the area of youth mental health.

2017 awardees:

Arnaud Tanti (lab of Naguib Mechawar) (photo)

Marilyn Fortin (lab of Marie-Josée Fleury)

Dr. Holly Carsley Memorial Award

Carsley prize

Thanks to generous gifts from Dr. Holly Carsley's family and friends, each year the Douglas Institute Research Centre and the Douglas Institute Foundation give the Dr. Holly Carsley Memorial Award to recognize the work of a Douglas Institute resident pursuing research in the area of depression and suicide.

2017 awardee:

Angélica Torres-Berrío (lab of Cecilia Flores) 

Roger J. Paiement Outreach Award

Bourse Paiement

Thanks to the generous support from Ms. Danielle T. Paiement, these awards support the participation of graduate students (MSc and PhD candidates), postdoctoral fellows or residents at an international scientific conference to present their research work in the field of Alzheimer's disease or dementia, memory disorders or aging.

2017 awardees:

  • Justin Miron (lab of Judes Poirier)

  • Guillaume Etter (lab of Sylvain Williams)


Rémi Quirion Excellence Award

Prix QuirionThanks to generosity of former students and collaborators, the Douglas Institute Research Centre and the Douglas Institute Foundation awarded for the first time this year the brand new Rémi Quirion Excellence Award. A world-renowned researcher and current Quebec's Chief Scientist, Dr. Quirion was the Scientific Director of the Douglas Institute Research Centre from 1996 to 2011. This new excellence award aims to recognize the outstanding research contribution of Master students of the Douglas Institute Research Centre.

2017 winner: Sivaniya Subramaniapillai (team of Natasha Rajah and Debra Titone)

Undergraduate Research Expo prizes

Douglas undergrad awards

During the Undergraduate Research Expo, held each year at the end of the summer, prizes are given for the best poster presentations by Douglas undergraduate students. The evaluation of the presentations is performed by a jury composed of Douglas graduate students and postdocs.

2017 awardees:

Tied for the First Place:

  • Anthony G. Chen (Mallar Chakravarty's team)
  • Tara Delorme (Nicolas Cermakian's team)

Third Place:

  • Xiang Qi Meng (Salah El Mestikawy's team)