Annual Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards

The Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards are given to the best research articles of the year published by students and postdoctoral fellows of the Douglas Research Centre. These awards, which have been attributed every year since 2012, are an opportunity to highlight the accomplishments of students and postdoctoral fellows of the Douglas Research Centre and are made possible by the generous contributions of the Hendlisz family.

2019 Edition of the Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards

Once again this year the trainees are invited to submit their publications for consideration. The trainees with the highest ranked submissions will be invited to present a short talk in a scientific event to take place in December. The awardees will be announced during this event.

1. Call for Applications

Deadline for submission: FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2019, 5:00 PM


  • The article must have a publication date between November 3, 2018 and November 1, 2019.
  • The paper must present research work conducted principally at the Douglas Research Centre, or that was directed primarily by a Douglas principal investigator.
  • Submitted articles are not eligible. Articles currently in press but not yet published will be considered in next year’s competition. Articles published online as of November 1 can be considered, but if they are submitted this year they would not be eligible in the next competition.
  • Review articles and articles reporting meta-analyses are not eligible.
  • Paper may deal with any area related to psychiatric research.
  • All trainees (undergraduate, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows) are eligible (position held at the time of performing the work described in the article).
  • The trainee applying for the award must be first author (or co-first author) of the publication.
  • In cases where there are more than one co-first authors on the article, only one of them can apply for the award.
  • A trainee can submit only one article per competition.

How to submit:

Submit the publication and submission form in PDF format (completed according to detailed instructions) by email to Centre de recherche Douglas, before Friday, November 1, 2019, 5:00 PM.
Paper submissions, late submissions or submissions that do not fulfill the above criteria and contents will NOT be considered.



2. Call for Review Committee Members

As in previous years, the selection of the Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards for the best student publications will be carried out via a peer-review process. Specifically, the applications will be evaluated by a review committee consisting of post-doctoral fellows and graduate students. 
We are calling for volunteers to serve on the committee for the 2019 award competition.

The objective here is to provide students with the experience of formal scientific review, similar to that occurring at the granting agency level. If you have ever wondered what it is like to sit on a review committee, participation in the present process will satisfy this curiosity!

If you are interested, please email Nicolas Cermakian indicating your interest before Friday November 1, 5:00PM. Please indicate your lab and level of training (postdoc, PhD, MSc student, and year in that program).

For more details please consult the full call for committee members.


3. Hendlisz Event 2019

The Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards are given to the best research articles of the year published by students and postdoctoral fellows of the Douglas Research Centre. The 2019 awardees were announced at a special scientific event held on December 16, 2019. 

1st place: Scott Bell (Carl Ernst Laboratory) for his article "Mutations in ACTL6B Cause Neurodevelopmental Deficits and Epilepsy and Lead to Loss of Dendrites in Human Neurons", Am. J. Hum. Genet., 2019.

2nd place: Gerald Jordan (Srividya Iyer and Ashok Malla laboratories) for his article "“It’s Brought Me a Lot Closer to Who I Am”: A Mixed Methods Study of Posttraumatic Growth and Positive Change Following a First Episode of Psychosis", Front. Psychiatry, 2019.

3rd place: Amanda Larosa (Tak Pan Wong laboratory) for her article "Negative Memory Engrams in the Hippocampus Enhance the Susceptibility to Chronic Social Defeat Stress", J. Neurosci., 2019.


Congratulations to the winners, and again, a special thank you to the Hendlisz family for making this possible.


2018 Edition of the Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Awards

 The 2018 edition winners of the Leo and Rachel Hendlisz Award were:

  • Laura Kervezee (Diane Boivin teams, Nicolas Cermakian)
  • Nikhil Bhagwat (Mallar Chakravarty team)
  • Joseph Therriault (Pedro Rosa-Neto team)

For the first time in 2018, three students subsequently produced short videos (in the form of a video abstract) with the knowledge transfer unit of the Montreal West Island Integrated University Health and Social Services Centre, to highlight their work. To view the videos, click on the following links.