Mark Brandon
Ph.D.

Mark Brandon
 

Bureau: 
E-2125, Pavillon Perry

6875 Boulevard LaSalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


Fax: 
(514) 762-3034




Champs de recherche: 
Neurosciences fondamentales / Recherche animale

Thème de recherche: 
Vieillissement, cognition et maladie d'Alzheimer

Images labo - cliquer pour agrandir: 
ChR2 YFP expression in dentate gyrus of the hippocampus
Spatial cell types in the hippocampal circuit

Chaire de recherche du Canada en circuits neuraux de la mémoire - Niveau 2

Chercheur, Centre de recherche Douglas
Professeur adjoint, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill



Circuits neuronaux de la mémoire


Le laboratoire du Dr Brandon étudie les fonctions des circuits neuronaux dans le système hippocampique-entorhinal dans des conditions normales et pathologiques. Le laboratoire se concentre sur quatre objectifs principaux:
1) Identifier les circuits et mécanismes que le cerveau utilise pour générer des représentations de l’espace et du temps.
2) Déterminer la manière dont l’organisation temporelle de l’activité neuronale et la cohérence inter-région contribue aux fonctions mnésiques
3) Identifier la manière dont les circuits intra- et extra-hippocampiques contribuent au rappel de représentations mnésiques contextuelles antérieures
4) Comprendre la manière dont le vieillissement et la maladie d’Alzheimer influencent le codage spatial et le rappel de mémoire spatial dans le circuit entorhinal-hippocampique.
Nous utilisons des enregistrements électrophysiologiques d’unités ainsi que des techniques d’imagerie calcique afin d’étudier l’activité de large populations de neurones dans ces circuits mnésiques, dans des animaux effectuant une différents comportements, de la simple exploration dans un champ ouvert (paradigme open-field) à la résolution de tâches mnésiques spatiales dans un labyrinthe en T ou encore dans des paradigmes de réalité virtuelle. Nous utilisons plusieurs lignées de souris transgéniques pour cibler des populations ou des réseaux spécifiques avec l’utilisation d’outils optogénétiques ou dans des expériences d’imagerie. Cette stratégie combinée offre un grand potentiel de compréhension des fonctions mnésiques au niveau de la circuitrie neuronale, et contribuera à guider la recherche de thérapies visant à restaurer la mémoire dans les démences ainsi que la maladie d’Alzheimer.


Brandon MP, Koenig J, Leutgeb JK, Leutgeb S. (2014) New and distinct hippocampal place codes are generated in a new environment during septal inactivation. Neuron May 21;82(4):789-96.

Brandon MP, Bogaard AR, Schultheiss NW, Hasselmo ME (2013) Segregation of cortical head direction cell assemblies on alternating theta cycles. Nature Neuroscience Jun;16(6):739-48.

Brandon MP, Koenig J, Leutgeb S. (2013) Parallel and convergent processing in grid, head-direction, and place cell networks. WIREs Cogn Sci. doi 10.1002/wcs.1271

Hasselmo ME & Brandon MP (2012) A model combining oscillations and attractor dynamics for generation of grid cell firing. Front Neural Circuits. 6:30

Brandon MP, Bogaard AR, Libby CP, Connerney MA, Gupta K, Hasselmo ME (2011) Reduction of theta oscillations dissociates grid cell spatial periodicity from directional tuning. Science Apr 29;332(6029):595-9.

Brandon MP, Bogaard AR, Andrews CM, Hasselmo ME (2011) Head direction cells in the postsubiculum do not show replay of prior waking sequences during sleep. Hippocampus Mar;22(3)604-18.

Hasselmo ME, Giocomo LM, Brandon MP, Yoshida M. (2010) Cellular dynamical mechanisms for encoding the time and place of events along spatiotemporal trajectories in episodic memory. Behav Brain Res. Dec 31;215(2):261-74

Hasselmo ME, Brandon MP, Yoshida Y, Fransen E, Giocomo LM, Heys J, Newman E, Zilli E. (2009) A phase code for memory could arise from circuit mechanisms in entorhinal cortex. Neural Networks Oct; 22(8):1129-38.

Brandon MP & Hasselmo ME (2009) Sources of the spatial code within the hippocampus. (2009) F1000 Biology Reports, 1:3

Hasselmo ME, Brandon MP. (2008) Linking cellular mechanisms to behavior: Entorhinal persistent spiking and membrane potential oscillations may underlie path integration, grid cell firing and episodic memory. Neural Plasticity (658323).


Le Dr Brandon a obtenu son doctorat en Neurosciences à l’université de Boston en 2011, alors qu’il travaillait dans le laboratoire du Dr Michael Hasselmo. Il étudiait alors les systèmes neuronaux impliqués dans la mémoire spatiale et la navigation dans le circuit entorhinal-hippocampique. En particulier, le Dr Brandon fit la découverte excitante que les cellules-grilles (grid cells) nécessitent les entrées du septum médian, une structure du prosencéphale basal qui soutient les rythmes thêta, et subissent une dégénérescence dans la maladie d’Alzheimer ainsi que l’épilepsie du lobe temporal. Le Dr Brand a ensuite étudié en tant que chercheur postdoctoral dans le laboratoire du Dr Stefan Leutgeb à l’université de Californie à San Diego. Il reçut une bourse postdoctorale NRSA du NIH pour étudier les circuits neuronaux dans le septum médian et leur contribution au codage spatial et temporel dans le circuit entorhinal-hippocampique. Le Dr Brandon fût un pionnier dans le développement des enregistrements électrophysiologiques de l’hippocampe en combinaison avec des stimulations optogénétiques du septum médian dans des souris transgéniques en libre mouvement. En 2015, le Dr Brandon a été recruté au Centre de Recherche de l’Hôpital Douglas et à l’université McGill en tant que professeur assistant afin d’établir un nouveau laboratoire pour continuer ses recherches sur le codage mnésique spatial et temporal dans le circuit entorhinal-hippocampique dans des conditions normales et pathologiques.


NIH Postdoctoral Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (2012-2015)


Zaki Ajabi
Hyun Choong Yong


McGill Logo

CIUSSS ouest montreal logo

 



  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre

Mark Brandon

Mark Brandon
 

Office: 
E-2125, Perry Building

6875 Boulevard Lasalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


Fax: 
(514) 762-3034




Research area: 
Basic Neuroscience / Animal Research

Research Theme: 
Ageing, Cognition and Alzheimer's disease

Lab images - click to enlarge: 
ChR2 YFP expression in dentate gyrus of the hippocampus
Spatial cell types in the hippocampal circuit

Assistant Professor



Neuronal circuits of memory


The Brandon Lab examines how neuronal circuits in the entorhinal-hippocampal memory system function in health and disease. Research in the lab focuses on four main objectives;
1) Identify the circuit mechanisms by which the brain generates representations of space and time.
2) Determine how temporally organizing spiking and inter-regional coherence support memory.
3) Examine how extra- and intra-hippocampal circuits support retrieval of previously stored contextual memory representations.
4) Characterize how aging and Alzheimer’s pathology impact spatial coding and spatial memory retrieval in the entorhinal-hippocampal circuit.
We use single-unit electrophysiology and calcium imaging techniques to record from large populations of neurons in these memory circuits as animals perform a variety of behaviors, from simple foraging in an open field, to solving spatial memory tasks in a T-maze or in a virtual reality paradigm. We use a variety of transgenic mouse lines to perform cell-type and circuit-specific optogenetic control and imaging experiments. This combined strategy has great potential to understand how memory works on the neuronal circuit level and will help to guide new efforts in the search for therapies to restore memory in dementia and Alzheimer’s disease.


Brandon MP, Koenig J, Leutgeb JK, Leutgeb S. (2014) New and distinct hippocampal place codes are generated in a new environment during septal inactivation. Neuron May 21;82(4):789-96.

Brandon MP, Bogaard AR, Schultheiss NW, Hasselmo ME (2013) Segregation of cortical head direction cell assemblies on alternating theta cycles. Nature Neuroscience Jun;16(6):739-48.

Brandon MP, Koenig J, Leutgeb S. (2013) Parallel and convergent processing in grid, head-direction, and place cell networks. WIREs Cogn Sci. doi 10.1002/wcs.1271

Hasselmo ME & Brandon MP (2012) A model combining oscillations and attractor dynamics for generation of grid cell firing. Front Neural Circuits. 6:30

Brandon MP, Bogaard AR, Libby CP, Connerney MA, Gupta K, Hasselmo ME (2011) Reduction of theta oscillations dissociates grid cell spatial periodicity from directional tuning. Science Apr 29;332(6029):595-9.

Brandon MP, Bogaard AR, Andrews CM, Hasselmo ME (2011) Head direction cells in the postsubiculum do not show replay of prior waking sequences during sleep. Hippocampus Mar;22(3)604-18.

Hasselmo ME, Giocomo LM, Brandon MP, Yoshida M. (2010) Cellular dynamical mechanisms for encoding the time and place of events along spatiotemporal trajectories in episodic memory. Behav Brain Res. Dec 31;215(2):261-74

Hasselmo ME, Brandon MP, Yoshida Y, Fransen E, Giocomo LM, Heys J, Newman E, Zilli E. (2009) A phase code for memory could arise from circuit mechanisms in entorhinal cortex. Neural Networks Oct; 22(8):1129-38.

Brandon MP & Hasselmo ME (2009) Sources of the spatial code within the hippocampus. (2009) F1000 Biology Reports, 1:3

Hasselmo ME, Brandon MP. (2008) Linking cellular mechanisms to behavior: Entorhinal persistent spiking and membrane potential oscillations may underlie path integration, grid cell firing and episodic memory. Neural Plasticity (658323).


Dr. Brandon obtained his Ph.D. in Neuroscience from Boston University in 2011, where he worked in the laboratory of Dr. Michael Hasselmo. Here, he studied the neural system for spatial memory and navigation in the entorhinal-hippocampal circuit. Notably, Dr. Brandon made the exciting discovery that grid cells in entorhinal cortex require input from the medial septum, a basal forebrain structure that supports the theta rhythm and undergoes degeneration in Alzheimer ’s disease and temporal lobe epilepsy. Dr. Brandon then studied as a postdoctoral researcher in Dr. Stefan Leutgeb’s laboratory at the University of California, San Diego. He received an NIH NRSA postdoctoral fellowship to study the circuit mechanisms in the medial septum that contribute to temporal and spatial coding in the entorhinal-hippocampal circuit. Dr. Brandon pioneered the combination of hippocampal recordings during medial septal optogenetic stimulation in freely behaving transgenic mice. In 2015, Dr. Brandon was recruited to the Douglas Hospital Research Centre and McGill University as Assistant Professor to establish a new laboratory to continue his research on temporal and spatial memory coding in the entorhinal-hippocampal circuit in health and disease.


NIH Postdoctoral Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (2012-2015)


Zaki Ajabi
Hyun Choong Yong


McGill Logo

CIUSSS ouest montreal logo

 



  • Douglas Hospital
  • Dobell Pavillion
  • Brain imaging centre