Michael Meaney

Michael Meaney
 

Office: 
E-4139, Perry Pavilion

6875 Boulevard Lasalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


(514) 761-6131 x3938

Fax: 
(514) 762-3034

Research area: 
Basic Neuroscience / Animal Research

Research Theme: 
Psychosis and Neurodevelopmental Disorders


Ph.D., FRSC, C.Q., C.M.

Co-Scientific Director, Ludmer Centre for Neuroinformatics and Mental Health
Researcher, Douglas Institute
Director, Sackler Program for Epigenetics & Psychobiology
James McGill Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology and Neurosurgery, McGill University



Biological basis of vulnerability for psychopathology


Biological basis of vulnerability for psychopathology
Biology of gene x environment Interactions
Epigenetic regulation of gene expression
Social influences on gene expression and brain development.

Environmental conditions during early development shape brain development. The Meaney lab idenfitied phenotypic variations in rodent models that derive from variations in maternal care. Maternal care stably modifies the epigenetic state and expression of genes implicated in behavioural and endocrine responses to stress and learning. These studies were the first to describe the influence of the social environment on genomic structure and function.

The Meaney lab is currently pursuing several lines of research, including:
• The molecular mechanisms by which environmental signals alter epigenetic mechanisms and gene expression in rodent models using a range of genome-wide analyses, including next generation sequencing.
• The effects of gene x environment interactions on epigenetic mechanisms in humans using longitudinal cohort studies.
• Epigenetic programming as a mechanism for the transgenerational transmission of traits in human and rodent models.
• The influence of extreme forms for childhood experience, such as abuse/neglect, on epigentic signals and genome function in relation to vulnerability for affective disorders.


Yehuda R, Daskalakis NP, Lehrner A, Desarnaud F, Bader HN, Makotkine J, Flory JD, Bierer LM, Meaney MJ. (2014) Influences of maternal and paternal PTSD on epigenetic regulation of the glucocorticoid receptor gene in Holocaust survivor offspring. American Journal of Psychiatry.

Bagot RC, Zhang TY, Wen XL, Nguyen TTT, Nguyen BH, Diorio J, Wong TP, Meaney, MJ. (2012) Variations in postnatal maternal care and the epigenetic regulation of Grm1 expression and hippocampal function in the rat. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 109 Suppl. 2:17200-17207.

Meaney MJ, Ferguson-Smith A. (2010) Epigenomic regulation of the neural transcriptome: The meaning of the marks. Nature Neuroscience 13:1313-1318.


Michael J Meaney is a James McGill Professor of Medicine at Douglas Mental health University Institute of McGill University. He is the Director of the Maternal Adversity, Vulnerability and Neurodevelopment Project. Meaney also joined the Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences in 2008 as a Senior Investigator and leads the Integrative Neuroscience Program. Meaney was educated at Loyola College of Montreal and received his PhD from Concordia University (Montreal) with post-doctoral training in Cell and Molecular Neurobiology at The Rockefeller University. Meaney’s primary research interest is that of the stable effects of early experience on gene expression and development, focusing on the influence of variations in maternal care. These studies have led to the discovery of novel epigenetic mechanisms for the influence of early experience. Meaney’s research is multidisciplinary and includes studies of behaviour and physiology, to molecular biology and genetics. He has authored over 375 journal articles. Graduates from Meaney’s lab holds faculty appointments across North America, Asia and Europe, including Columbia University, Queen’s University, University of California at Berkley, University of British Columbia, University of Michigan, University of Pennsylvania, the University of Toronto, INSERM (France) and the RIKEN Institute of Japan.


2016
Margolese Brain Disorder Prize
http://douglas.research.mcgill.ca/michael-meaney-awarded-margolese-natio...

2014
Wilder-Penfield Award
This is the highest award for biomedical research, given by the Government of Quebec, which "goes to scientists whose research aims fall within the field of biomedicine. These fields include the medical sciences, the natural sciences, and engineering".
2014 Klaus J. Jacob Research Prize Laureate
The 2014 Klaus J. Jacob Research Prize Laureate has been awarded to Micheal Meany in recognition of his pioneering, cutting edge research on the biological mechanisms by which parental behaviour affects brain development and lifelong function. The Klaus J. Jacobs Awards is one of two international prizes presented to honour scientific achievements that are of exceptional social relevance in promoting the development of children and youth.The Jacobs Foundation attaches great importance to the practical application of scientific findings achieved through interdisciplinary research. The Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize also includes an award of one million Swiss francs, (1M USD).

2012
Member of the Order of Canada
The Member of the Order of Canada recognizes a lifetime of distinguished service in or to a particular community, group or field of activity
Fondation IPSEN International Prize in Neuronal Plasticity
It is awarded to researchers in recognition of outstanding contributions in the field of neuronal plasticity: development, synaptogenesis, aging, regeneration, grafts, growth factors.

2009
Scientist of the year
The team from the radio show Les années lumière awarded the title of Radio-Canada Scientist of the Year 2009 to Michael Meaney and Gustavo Turecki for their discovery of the epigenetic effects of child abuse on the human brain.

2007
Most Highly Cited Scientist in the area of neuroscience
He is recognized by the Institute for Scientific Information as a "Most Highly Cited Scientist" in the area of neuroscience.
Member of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC)
The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) is the senior national body of distinguished Canadian scholars, artists and scientists. It is Canada’s national academy. The primary objective of the RSC is to promote learning and research in the arts and sciences.
Knight of the National Order of Quebec
The National Order of Quebec is the highest recognition given by the government of Quebec.

2006
Klerman Award
Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA) Awards Prestigious Klerman Prize to Innovators in Mental Health Research
Presidential Scholar by the University of California
He is honoured as the Presidential Scholar by the University of California at San Francisco.

2002
NARSAD Distinguished Investigator Award
He is awarded this prestigious award in recognition of his contributions to stress research.

2001
James McGill Chair
The James McGill Chair is awarded by McGill to advance and support the scholarship and research of exceptional academic staff in priority areas of intellectual interest.

2000
Patricia R. Barchas Award
He is presented the Patricia R. Barchas Award in Sociophysiology in recognition of the importance and sophistication of his research, from the American Psychosomatic Society. The Patricia R. Barchas Award in Sociophysiology, established in 1999, is to memorialize Patricia Barchas by furthering the field of sociophysiology, the study of the reciprocal relationships that could lead to long-term change both in social behavior and in physiology.

1997
CIHR Senior Scientist Career Award
This award is presented by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) for research on stress


Josie Diorio
Anita Thambirajah
Carine Parent
Dara Shahrokh
Huy-Binh Nguyen
Joseph W. Foley
Kieran O’Donnell
Naghmeh Rastegar
Rachel Massicotte
Tie Yuan Zhang
Sabine Dhir
Eva Unternaehrer
Shantala Hari Dass
Thi Thu Thao Nguyen
Richard Ryan
Lawrence Chen
Xianglan Wen
Philippe Jolivet
Nicolas Brossard
Nicholas O'Toole
Hélène Gaudreau
Étienne Léger
Valérie Aubut
Érika Piercy
Camille Gagnon-Trudeau
Camille Carpentier-Laberge


Recent Publications

Michael Meaney

Michael Meaney
 

Bureau: 
E-4139, Perry Pavilion

6875 Boulevard Lasalle
Montréal, QC
H4H 1R3


(514) 761-6131 x3938

Fax: 
(514) 762-3034

Champs de recherche: 
Neurosciences fondamentales / Recherche animale

Thème de recherche: 
Psychose et désordres neurodéveloppementaux


Ph.D., FRSC, C.Q., C.M.

Co-directeur scientifique, Centre Ludmer en neuroinformatique et santé mentale
Chercheur, Institut Douglas
Directeur, Programme Sackler en épigénetique et psychobiologie
Professeur James McGill, Départements de psychiatrie et de neurologie et neurochirurgie, Université McGill



Bases biologiques de la vulnérabilité à la psychopathologie


Les conditions environnementales pendant l’enfance influence le développement du cerveau. Michael Meaney et son équipe ont identifié des variations phénotypiques attribuables à la variation de la qualité des soins maternels, chez les rongeurs. Les soins maternels ont un impact direct sur les marques épigénétiques et l’expression des gènes impliqués dans les réponses neuronales et endocriniennes, face au stress et à l’apprentissage. Ces études ont été les premières à décrire l’influence de l’environnement social sur la structure et la fonction génomique.
Présentement, Michael Meaney et son équipe travaillent dans plusieurs domaines de recherche :
• Mécanismes moléculaires qui, grâce aux signaux environnementaux, altèrent les mécanismes épigénétiques et l’expression des gènes chez les rongeurs, utilisant l’analyse des génomes, incluant des techniques de séquençage à la fine pointe de la technologie.
• Effets des interactions gène X – environnement sur les mécanismes épigénétiques sur les humains, à l’aide de cohortes d’études longitudinales.
• Programmation épigénétique comme mécanisme pour la transmission transgénérationnelle de traits chez les humains et les modèles de rongeurs.
• Certaines expériences comme l’abus ou la négligence durant la petite enfant influencent les signaux épigénétiques et la fonction du génome, en relation avec la vulnérabilité et les désordres affectifs.


Yehuda R, Daskalakis NP, Lehrner A, Desarnaud F, Bader HN, Makotkine J, Flory JD, Bierer LM, Meaney MJ. (2014) Influences of maternal and paternal PTSD on epigenetic regulation of the glucocorticoid receptor gene in Holocaust survivor offspring. American Journal of Psychiatry.

Bagot RC, Zhang TY, Wen XL, Nguyen TTT, Nguyen BH, Diorio J, Wong TP, Meaney, MJ. (2012) Variations in postnatal maternal care and the epigenetic regulation of Grm1 expression and hippocampal function in the rat. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 109 Suppl. 2:17200-17207.

Meaney MJ, Ferguson-Smith A. (2010) Epigenomic regulation of the neural transcriptome: The meaning of the marks. Nature Neuroscience 13:1313-1318.


Michael J. Meaney est un professeur James McGill en médecine à l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas qui est affilié à l’Université McGill. Il est le directeur du projet MAVAN (Adversité Maternelle, Vulnérabilité et Développement Neurologique). Meaney Meaney s’est joint au Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences en 2008, à titre de chercheur principal et chef du programme intégré en neurosciences. Il a fait ses études au Collège Loyola à Montréal, puis il a obtenu son doctorat de l’Université Concordia pour ensuite faire son stage postdoctoral en neurobiologie cellulaire et moléculaire au Rockefeller University. Son premier champ d’intérêt est l’influence des effets des expériences vécues pendant la petite enfance, sur l’expression des gènes et le développement, en tenant compte des variations des soins maternels. Ses études ont permis la découverte de nouveaux mécanismes épigénétiques en lien direct avec les expériences vécues au cours de la petite enfance. Les recherches de Meaney sont multidisciplinaires et comprennent des études sur le comportement et la physiologie, la biologie moléculaire et la génétique. Il est l’auteur de plus de 375 articles publiés dans divers journaux. Certains des diplômés du laboratoire de Meaney ont été nominés au sein de corps professoral d’institutions basées en Amérique du Nord, en Asie et en Europe, incluant : Columbia University, Queen’s University, University of California (à Berkley), University of British Columbia, University of Michigan, University of Pennsylvania, University of Toronto, INSERM (en France) et le RIKEN Institute (au Japon).


2016
Margolese National Brain Disorder Prize
http://douglas.research.mcgill.ca/fr/michael-meaney-recevra-le-margolese...

2014
Prix Wilder-Penfield
Le prix Wilder-Penfield est la plus haute distinction dans le domaine de la recherche biomédicale au Québec. Le prix Wilder-Penfield est l’un des onze Prix du Québec décernés annuellement par le gouvernement du Québec. Il couronne l'ensemble de la carrière d'un scientifique dont l'objet de recherche appartient au domaine biomédical.
Prix Klaus J. Jacobs 2014 de la recherche
Le Prix Klaus J. Jacobs de la recherche a été remis à Michael Meany en témoignage de sa recherche de pointe sur les mécanismes biologiques voulant que le comportement parental affecte le développement du cerveau et les fonctions cérébrales tout au long de la vie. Le Prix Klaus J. Jacobs est l'une des deux récompenses internationales remises chaque année depuis 2009 pour récompenser un travail scientifique ayant une pertinence sociale exceptionnelle pour le développement des enfants et des jeunes. La Fondation Jacobs attache une grande importance à la mise en pratique des découvertes scientifiques issues de la recherche interdisciplinaire. Le prix est accompagné d’une bourse d’un million de francs suisses (1 M$ US).

2012
Membre de l'Ordre du Canada
Le titre de membre de l'Ordre du Canada reconnaît une vie vouée au service d’une communauté, d’un groupe ou d’un champ d’activité.
Prix international en plasticité neuronale de la Fondation IPSEN
Le prix en plasticité neuronale de la Fondation IPSEN est remis aux chercheurs qui ont contribué de façon remarquable au domaine de la plasticité neuronale : développement, synaptogénèse, vieillissement, régénération, greffes.

2009
Scientifique de l'année
L’équipe de l’émission Les années lumière décerne le titre de Scientifique de l’année 2009 de Radio-Canada à Michael Meaney et Gustavo Turecki, pour leur découverte des effets épigénétiques de la maltraitance infantile sur le cerveau humain.

2007
Scientifique le plus souvent cité dans le domaine de la neuroscience
Il est reconnu par l'Institute for Scientific Information comme le « scientifique le plus souvent cité » dans le domaine de la neuroscience.
Membre de la Société Royale du Canada (SRC)
La Société royale du Canada (SRC) est le principal organisme regroupant d’éminents scientifiques, chercheurs et gens de lettres au Canada. Considérée comme l’académie nationale du Canada, la SRC a pour objectif premier de promouvoir l’acquisition du savoir et la recherche en arts et en sciences.
Chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec
L'Ordre national du Québec est la plus haute distinction décernée par le gouvernement du Québec.

2006
Prix Klerman
Le prix Klerman est décerné par la Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA) aux innovateurs dans la recherche en santé mentale.
Président chercheur-boursier par l'Université de la Californie
Il est honoré comme Président chercheur-boursier par l'Université de la Californie à San Francisco.

2002
NARSAD Distinguished Investigator Award
Il reçoit ce prix prestigieux en reconnaissance de ses contributions à la recherche sur le stress.

2001
Chaire James McGill
La Chaire James McGill est octroyée par McGill pour appuyer et faire avancer les travaux d'universitaires de haut calibre dans les secteurs clé de la recherche à McGill.

2000
Prix Patricia R. Barchas
Il reçoit le Prix Patricia R. Barchas de l'American Psychosomatic Society en reconnaissance de l'importance des recherches poussées qu'il effectue en sociophysiologie.

1997
Bourse de scientifique chevronné des IRSC
Cette bourse des IRSC reconnaît ses contributions à la recherche sur le stress.


Josie Diorio
Anita Thambirajah
Carine Parent
Dara Shahrokh
Huy-Binh Nguyen
Joseph W. Foley
Kieran O’Donnell
Naghmeh Rastegar
Rachel Massicotte
Tie Yuan Zhang
Sabine Dhir
Eva Unternaehrer
Shantala Hari Dass
Thi Thu Thao Nguyen
Richard Ryan
Lawrence Chen
Xianglan Wen
Philippe Jolivet
Nicolas Brossard
Nicholas O'Toole
Hélène Gaudreau
Étienne Léger
Valérie Aubut
Érika Piercy
Camille Gagnon-Trudeau
Camille Carpentier-Laberge


Publications récentes